all together, with feeling now, Weddings

Can I just be honest?

I know brides are not supposed to say this… at all.

(It seems brides are not supposed to say things that hurt, or be sad, or frustrated, because that would automatically land them into Bridezilla category. You’re one of two things – saint-like and omm-all-is-neatly-in-place, worry-not ‘Bride’, or control-freak, selfish-me-me-me Bridezilla.)

But the truth is,

my mum makes me wish I had a different wedding. Or just eloped.

So that at least, I won’t have that sinking, saddening feeling that she wants this wedding to be what she wants, without respecting what Marcus and I want.

(And so I won’t have to put up with her tantrums.)

But who am I kidding? Neither of those options would have worked without angering my parents.

And that’s possibly the stinkiest part.

I don’t really expect you guys to comprehend, or agree with my actions, or that I made the best or right decisions (if those even exist in a situation like this). Because as with any other relationship, the ‘pain points’ and spikes are only understood by the two parties involved.

To just say this out loud here helps, ¬†because that alone makes me feel better… to know that these words are out there, existing.

So, what’s left?

What’s left is to just keep my head down, grit my teeth, and move on. And keep trying. As I have, when it comes to family, all these years.

{source : weheartit}

Standard

3 thoughts on “Can I just be honest?

  1. oh, you can be honest. I have to say, your wedding photos don’t look like the conventional album of super-cheese poses. I guess what I’m trying to say is, I didn’t think for a moment your wedding’s gonna be run-of-the-mill. ANYWAY! It’s happening what, tomorrow? HUGE DAY!!

  2. theletterzee says:

    melly > heya! thanks for your sweet words, super-cheese was definitely not the effect we were aiming for, glad we succeeded in that :) YES IT’S TOMORROW it feels really surreal by the way. hehe.

    celest > hey dear, thank you for the reminder, i will absolutely try :) big hugs and hope you are well in london! xo

Leave a Reply

