all together, with feeling now

Oh, Sylvia & Anais.

I have two pencils at work, bought from Books Actually not far from my office.

One is inscribed ‘Sylvia Plath’ at the end, and the other, ‘Anais Nin’. For some reason, ‘Sylvia Plath’ is worn down a lot faster than ‘Anais Nin’. Heh.

One of my favourite Plath poems is Ariel … presumably about Plath riding her horse, Ariel.

An excerpt :

“Something else

Hauls me through air—-
Thighs, hair;
Flakes from my heels.

White
Godiva, I unpeel—-
Dead hands, dead stringencies.

And now I
Foam to wheat, a glitter of seas.”

Oh, I do miss those lit days in junior college. Days spent analysing the thought behind each line, each nuance, each word. Donne, Plath, Frost, Heaney, Shakespeare. It was frustrating and hard at times and that A or even B on the lit paper was so elusive, but now looking back studying lit was such a delicious indulgence…

(weheartit)

Standard

8 thoughts on “Oh, Sylvia & Anais.

  1. took the words out of my mouth! literature lessons (or english as it was called) were the only reason i’d drag my lazy bones to school while in junior college, and kept me going the whole two years. wouldn’t have had any desire to attend classes otherwise haha.

  2. I love this post so much, literature lessons will always hold a special place in my heart. Plath was my favourite, I love Ariel, Daddy and You’re the most. Love.

  3. theletterzee says:

    oh girls! fellow lit lovers! so happy you two felt the same. :D

    nab : remember harris?! (sigh.) Donne was our sex education lah! Ahem. Haha

  4. theletterzee says:

    missjabok : im embarrassed to say this but i only know donne’s work and not marvell’s, heh heh. I wonder if it was my lit teacher that was the salacious one, or was it just Donne’s innuendos… ahem.

    • hey zee! i found to his coy mistress online but it’s a bit long to post here. happy to send it to you if you don’t mind dropping me an email at mysterymeatballs@gmail.com. if not it’s very easy to google.

      p/s to his coy mistress is an artfully crafted means of conveying a single sentiment i.e. “let me into (your) pants”

Leave a Reply

