all together, with feeling now, pretty things, said tongue in chic

The smell of new leather.

So today, I bought myself a nice bag. (The Mulberry small Edie, in black calf leather.) The result of laying down the cash – my first ‘major’ bag purchase – has been a combination of giggly glee and an almost delicious and slightly naughty sense of guilt.

How can I not love the fact that it was inspired by the wonderful yet heartbreaking story of the two Edies (Edith Bouvier Beale Sr. & Jr.) so hauntingly portrayed in Grey Gardens? And the little design touches such as push-lock fastening under the flap to retain the bag shape, the embossed mulberry trees, and the combination of the timeless Bayswater satchel with the decidedly quirky rabbit-and-rose patterned guitar strap… speaks perfection to me.

(Mulberry)

Standard

21 thoughts on “The smell of new leather.

  1. I’m not familiar with the bag, but I love the strap so much!! I always hate most ladies bags because they just seem kinda devoid of personality, but this is such an amazing exception! Great choice babe! Ooh and I’ve been wanting to watch Grey Gardens too!

    • theletterzee says:

      thanks babe!!! yes the strap was what did it for me the most :)

      Grey Gardens is a must-watch – i’m sure you’ll love it.

  2. wl says:

    looks like someone ended up with a lovely bag in the end ! I ended up in bed for most of the weekend nursing a throbbing self-induced headache -_- next weekend it will be, I hope, if guilt of laying down major cash just for a bag doesn’t crush me just yet.

    • theletterzee says:

      oh dear, hope you’re feeling much better by now…

      haha yes i eat my words! was trying not to jinx it anyways.

      yes the guilt is always there, i have to say. but if it is for The One…. well :) let me know what you get in the end!

      • wl says:

        finally got the bag last week after months of indecision and comparison: the céline luggage tote in camel. just sent it in for leather protection because it’s just too precious to be left to my usual carelessness/ mindlessness.

        • theletterzee says:

          oh. my. god. that is a gorgeous baby of a bag. please take photos when it’s finally with you! leather protection sounds like a wise idea indeed, for such a whopper.

          • wl says:

            out of nowhere last week, the store called to say they have one bag and if I would be interested. this coming from a store that didn’t want to take down my name on the wait list because it was too long to accomodate one more. pretty much like a godsend, one sleepless night after and it was mine. you should too. apparently it will be waterproof and stains will be easier to wipe off after. can’t leave it to chance this time.

  3. cherylg says:

    hey zee how’re you doing? this is adorable! congrats. i recently bought the mini miu miu bow satchel, so i totally get the guilty pleasure conundrum! haha. but at the end of the day, if i makes you happy…i say why not! ;) enjoy it!

    ps. pinterest looks insanely cool….requested an invite!

    • theletterzee says:

      haha yes such a lousy layout for comments, wordpress!

      re : celine bag – wow. i suppose you got lucky! I know what you mean about sleepless night, it’s such a stressful decision isn’t it. where do you get yours waterproofed though?

Leave a Reply

