design love

Roald Dahl stamps.

Did you read (and re-read) Roald Dahl books as a kid?

I loved them. They were windows into these amazing worlds, and they really fueled my love for writing and reading and drawing in a major way.

My favourites were Matilda and Charlie & The Chocolate Factory. What about you?

Royal Mail in the UK recently launched this series of collectors’ Roald Dahl stamps, and I couldn’t help myself – I bought the stamp set and hope to frame it up on our new apartment walls. The power of Roald Dahl’s stories and Quentin Blake’s drawings will surely put a smile on my face and make me feel like a wondrous child again, whenever I look at the stamps!

 

 

We are about a month away from our scheduled house move, so it’s all very exciting and surreal at the same time :-) I’m sure the weeks will fly past, as they have been so quickly, and before we know it we’ll have settled in nicely.

(Royal Mail)

Standard

9 thoughts on “Roald Dahl stamps.

  1. wl says:

    roald dahl and quentin blake were so very fundamentally instrumental in shaping my love for writing and reading as well ! my favorite has got to be the witches. it intrigued me so much I couldn’t stop pondering over the book days after finishing it.

    oh and good luck with the big move !

  2. wl says:

    another favorite that almost slipped my mind, kiss kiss. that was probably the most macabre and shocking literature I’d first come across as a 9/10 year old. entirely different from his children’s fiction but so so good.

    • theletterzee says:

      Ooh interesting! I haven’t come across kiss kiss before… I remember being riveted by the Witches movie! If I didn’t get it wrong, it’s the one with Anjelica Huston and the mice…? Lol.

      • wl says:

        lol, yes ! watched the movie years after so the impact wasn’t as large as when I was a kiddo… couldn’t. stop. thinking about that girl with the ducks. in the painting.

  3. theletterzee says:

    funny, i don’t remember that part of the movie! LOL. i only remember the witches transforming into mice. that was SOOO SCARYY. haha

  4. what lovely stamps! I remember being a bit creeped out at the bald witches, but the drawings bring back many memories :) new to your page, so hello hello and thanks for the heads-up on these stamps.

    have an uncomplicated and fuss-free move!

  5. I love Roald Dahl….my first book was Matilda and my all-time favourite was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Which is your favourite? The stamps look adorable!

    • zee says:

      I love the two you mentioned too, but if I had to choose a favorite it would have to be Matilda :-) go get the stamps, they were something like 4GBP a set :-)

Leave a Reply

