this could be anything

London, you have a piece of my heart.

 

London is one of those cities that I keep returning to and continue to love.

Every time I go back, I ask myself, “Could you set up home here?” … I’ll miss my family and friends, but it would be so easy to love and live in London. It’s such a brilliant city with a never-ending list of things to do, places to discover, delicious grub, and so much character.

IMG_5387

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were warmly greeted by the lovely  Jo and Kai at Jo’s brother’s apartment where we were putting up for a few weeks. I was delirious with exhaustion and jetlag and wasn’t much company during dinner I’m afraid… Sorry Jo!

The next morning, we headed to Spitalfields Market, ravenous and looking for a good British breakfast.

IMG_5392

IMG_5391

To our elation, we realized St John Bakery was right opposite Spitalfields – and it was open for breakfast.

IMG_5397

Spotted this spiffy gentleman complete with green tweed suit and boater! Money shot.

IMG_5404 IMG_5407

It’s a really simple, beautiful environment. Wood, tiles, steel, white, airy.

IMG_5412

The breakfast we had mirrored the environment too – the simplest things, elevated to perfection. Bread, honey and butter. And a bacon sandwich.

THE best bacon sandwich I’ve ever had, by the way. And hat’s saying quite a bit for someone who usually doesn’t go for bacon (give me sausages any day and I’ll take those instead). But this bacon sandwich … fluffy buttered thick toast, smoky fragrant bacon, and homemade tomato sauce on the side.

I still daydream of this meal, 2 months later.

IMG_5415

But the eating had only just begun.

We next headed to Covent Garden to catch our Matilda Sunday matinee show. A quick fuel-up pre-show at this charming cafe consisted of a veggie quiche and iced coffee.

IMG_5478

IMG_5443 IMG_5446

 

Matilda was a stunning show with lots of great ensemble numbers. I am a huge fan of the Roald Dahl book, and sort of identify with Matilda. But I was a little let-down by the girl playing Matilda during that particular show. She wasn’t quite as engaging as some of her other peers, and since she is the protagonist, it made it that much more challenging to connect to the overall story. The Aldwych Theatre is also rather old, grubby, and super stuffy. It was so warm! Nonetheless still happy I caught it.

After the show, we wanted a spot of shopping and easy walking-around. Alas, everything closed by 5 or 6pm on Sunday so we were forced to eat, yet again.

The Five Guys burger queue wasn’t that long, so we joined in, hoping to see what the fuss was.

IMG_5455

IMG_5462

The burgers were good, fries so-so – but still a good quick meal in the cool and sunny afternoon breeze. I’d say… have a go if the queue’s manageable but not worth an hour’s wait. :-)

On Tuesday, we caught A Chorus Line with last-minute tickets. So glad we did, because it was one of my top 3 favourite musicals we watched this trip! I was mesmerized from start to end. So brilliantly acted, danced, sung – simply a masterpiece.

Here we are, beaming after the show.

IMG_5562

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “London, you have a piece of my heart.

    • theletterzee says:

      As I wrote this post, I wished I was back there too. Hehe. London is the city for discovery and hidden gems. Time to go back, for you, then? ;)

  1. jo says:

    loving the new look on your blog! how crisp and clean :) and hello! you were all sparkling wit and charm at dinner, wouldn’t have guessed you were tired. so glad to have caught you in london. enjoying the photos and posts – now i’ve to follow your footsteps to that spital tongue breakfast. sounds amazing X

    • theletterzee says:

      Thanks dearie! So glad to have met up and hung out in London. And so thankful for your amazing hospitality :) let me know if you enjoy the bacon sandwich too (so I can live vicariously) X

Leave a Reply

